Dear Beach Volleyball Community

The ACTS Group is in the preparation progress for the next tournament in Vienna in 2022. For all beach news, all information about the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley 2021 presented by Swatch and a preview to our next event click here:

See you @ the beach!

2018-09-03 16:31:00 CET

Vikings rule end-of-season awards

Anders Mol and Christian Sørum dominate FIVB honors

Anders Mol (right) and Christian Sørum won five end-of-season awards from the FIVB.Anders Mol (right) and Christian Sørum won five end-of-season awards from the FIVB.

World Tour Finals champion Anders Mol scooped four end-of-season awards – including Most Outstanding – as he and Christian Sørum captured a host of honors from the FIVB.

At 21, Anders becomes the youngest winner of the Most Outstanding award, and the Norwegian blocker also picked up the Best Blocker, Best Offensive Player and Most Improved Player prizes.

Teammate Sørum did not go unnoticed either, winning the Best Defensive Player. Together the duo ended the campaign top of the world rankings following a string of gold medals, winning four tournaments in a row: in Gstaad, Vienna, Hamburg and at the European Championships

In the other awards, there was no surprises in the Best Server category as reigning World Champion Evandro Gonçalves won the award for the fourth season running. Fellow Brazilian, Ricardo Santos, was selected for the highly-coveted Most Inspirational Award and the former Olympic champ – still playing aged 43 – shared the Sportsperson of the Year prize with Latvian Aleksandrs Samoilovs.

The Lion King’s teammate, Janis Smedins, won Best Setter award, while the Netherlands’ Alexander Brouwer was voted Best Hitter for the second year in a row.

Finally, young Russian Igor Velichko was named Rookie of the Year, after a season that saw him win two gold medals on the World Tour and reach the World Tour Finals.


Men’s roll of honor:

Most Outstanding Player: Anders Mol

Best Blocker: Anders Mol

Most Improved Player: Anders Mol

Best Offensive Player: Anders Mol

Best Defensive Player: Christian Sørum

Best Server: Evandro Gonçalves

Best Setter: Janis Smedins

Most Inspirational: Ricardo

Sportsman: Ricardo and Aleksandrs Samoilovs

Rookie: Igor Velichko


The women’s awards will be announced at 4pm CEST on Tuesday.

Latest News