2018-04-29 22:24:00 CET

Who can stop Evandro and Andre?

The Brazilian Super Praia was the latest title won by the world champions

Andre and Evandro are stacking up medals since last summer (Photocredit: CBV)Andre and Evandro are stacking up medals since last summer (Photocredit: CBV)

Alison Cerutti and Bruno Schmidt had won each of the first four editions of the Brazilian Super Praia, the closing tournament for the beach volleyball season in the country. However, the Olympic champions’ dynasty came to an end this weekend by the hands of Evandro Goncalves and Andre Loyola.

The world champions, who won the World Championships, the World Tour and the Brazilian Tour all in the past 10 months, were too much to Alison and Bruno, winning the gold medal match in Brasilia after a three-set battle (21-19, 19-21, 15-11) in the country’s capital.

“Of course our good moment helps, but the results also have a lot to do with the work we’ve been doing,” Evandro said. “We’ve been playing really well since last summer and the key to me is that we always help each other in the court, especially in the hard moments. It’s awesome that we could play a good match against such a great team. Against them, it’s always about making the fewer mistakes.”

CAMPEÕES DO SUPERPRAIA!! . @evandrojuniorvolei e @andrelstein conquistaram neste domingo o título do Superpraia! Na final, vitória sobre Alison/Bruno por 2 sets a 1. Fecharam a temporada 2017/2018 com chave de ouro! . Prêmios individuais: @evandrojuniorvolei ganhou o troféu de melhor saque e melhor ataque! E @andrelstein o prêmio de melhor jogador da temporada! . Nosso agradecimento especial a toda equipe e parceiros @evandroeandreoficial !!!! . . #vôlei #voleidepraia #cimed #cimedesportes #cimedsemlimites #voxxsuplementos #marinhadobrasil #prefeituradorio #caprres #ctleblon #congeladosdasonia #uvline #torcidabrasil

179 Likes, 10 Comments - Evandro e André (@evandroeandreoficial) on Instagram: "CAMPEÕES DO SUPERPRAIA!! . @evandrojuniorvolei e @andrelstein conquistaram neste domingo o título..."

The team also took home some important individual awards as Andre was elected the best player of the season, Evandro won as best server and best spiker and their coach, Ednilson Costa, was the best in his category.

The other awarded were Bruno Schmidt (best receiver, best setter and fans’ favorite), Alison (best blocker), Guto Carvalhaes (best defender), George Wanderley (most improved player) and Adrielson dos Santos (best rookie).

Hevaldo Sabino and Artur Lanci won the bronze medal in Brasilia as they defeated Alvaro Filho and Saymon Barbosa in straight sets (21-17, 21-18).

Taiana and Carol Horta win their first title

Registro da premiação do nosso título do Superpraia ! 👊🏆🥇 . #fruttabellamg #fabiolamolina #institutobigvolei #ctbeachvolleyhighperformance #clinicaqcorpo #lojauvlife #cde #ayofitnessclub #cbv

64 Likes, 3 Comments - Taiana e Carol Horta (@taianaecarolhorta) on Instagram: "Registro da premiação do nosso título do Superpraia ! 👊🏆🥇 . #fruttabellamg #fabiolamolina..."

In the women’s tournament, Taiana Lima and Carol Horta, who are playing together on a regular basis since they won the silver medal in the Fort Lauderdale Major, kept the good momentum and won their first title as a team.

The duo prevailed over Tainá Bigi and Victoria Lopes in straight sets (21-19, 23-21) in the gold medal match and celebrated their first victory. 

“It’s amazing to win this tournament competing against the best in the country,” said Taiana, who won the first edition of the Super Praia, in 2014, playing with Talita Antunes. “It’s a memorable moment for us and now we want to keep improving in the World Tour. We know we still have a lot of things to fix in our game, but we were able to play well this week and I’m glad for that.”

Taiana was one of the players to take home the season awards, as she was selected the best defender and best setter of the Tour. Carol Solberg (best player), Maria Elisa Antonelli (best server), Ana Patrícia Ramos (best blocker, best spiker and most improved player), Duda Lisboa (best receiver), Victoria Lopes (best rookie), Luciano Kioday (best coach) and Agatha Bednarczuk (fan’s favorite) were the other awarded.

Fernanda Berti and Barbara Seixas, the winners of the Fort Lauderdale Major, finished third after a 2-0 win (21-17, 21-19) over Josi Alves and Lili Maestrini.

Latest News