Dear Beach Volleyball Community

The ACTS Group is in the preparation progress for the A1 CEV Beach Volleyball European Championships 2021 in Vienna.

Key Facts:

  • Date: 11-15 August, 2021
  • New location: Heumarkt in the city center of Vienna
  • Floodlight night sessions
  • Entry only with ticket
  • 128 teams
  • Modified Pool Play

This way to the Beach Volleyball European Championships!
See you @ the beach!

2017-09-06 12:37:00 CET

End-of-season hat-trick for Thin Beast

American star picks up treble in FIVB awards

Phil celebrates during his and Nick Lucena's triumph in HamburgPhil celebrates during his and Nick Lucena's triumph in Hamburg

Hamburg Finals hero Phil Dalhausser completed an end-of-season hat-trick with three awards to make him the most decorated player in FIVB history.

No player has won more awards than the 37-year-old American since the FIVB began the process in 2005.

The Thin Beast, who with partner Nick Lucena won the season finale in Germany and gold in Gstaad, was named Most Outstanding, Best Blocker and Best Offensive Player in 2017, taking his total to 30 post-season awards.

Fellow American John Hyden was named as Most Inspirational. The 44-year-old continued his renaissance on the sand with Ryan Doherty in 2017 with a host of impressive display on the international tour, including a silver medal in Olsztyn and top-five finishes in Fort Lauderdale, Rio and Gstaad.

There were no surprises in the Best Server category with Brazilian World Champion Evandro winning the award once again, while the Best Defender award went the way of Russia’s World Championship bronze medalist Viacheslav Krasilnikov.

Fort Lauderdale Major champion Alvaro Filho was named the Sportsman of the Year while Canada’s Sam Pedlow, who teamed up with Sam Schachter at the start of the season, received the Most Improved Player prize.

Norway’s 20-year-old rising star Anders Mol was selected as the Rookie of the Year following another impressive season on the senior tour. The Scandinavian finished ninth at both Majors in Gstaad and Poreč.

Finally, Poland’s super-consistent Bartosz Losiak was named Best Setter. Together with Piotr Kantor, Losiak won silver in Rio and at the Gstaad Major before the duo finished fourth in the Hamburg Finals.

Men’s roll of honor

Most Outstanding – Phil Dalhausser

Best Blocker – Phil Dalhausser

Best Offensive Player – Phil Dalhausser

Best Server – Evandro

Best Defender – Viacheslav Krasilnikov

Best Hitter – Alexander Brouwer

Best Setter – Bartosz Losiak

Most Improved Player – Sam Pedlow

Rookie of the Year – Anders Mol

Sportsman of the Year – Alvaro Filho

Most Inspirational – John Hyden

Congratulations to the winners.


Click here to see which women won what in the 2017 end-of-season awards.

Latest News